Car Nicobar, Nov. 16: The Season-V of Dr. B. Srikanth Memorial T-20 Cricket Tournament was inaugurated yesterday by Chief Guest, Shri Lionel Nicomede, Chief Tribal Council, Car Nicobar in the presence of Shri Rajeev Kumar, SP Nicobar District, Shri Kishore Kshirsagar Lakshman, Deputy Commissioner, Nicobar District, Shri K. Tyagi, (CADO) IAF, Car Nicobar and members of Tribal council, Car Nicobar.

This tournament is being organized by Nicobar District Police in coordination with Merchant Association of Car Nicobar under aegis of Cricket Association of A & N Islands.

Speaking on the occasion, the SP Nicobar elaborated the achievements and contribution of Late Dr. B. Srikanth, IPS to the Nicobar District and Nicobar Police during his tenure. Then Chief Guest emphasized the importance of games and announced the formal start of season V of the tournament.

A total of 20 teams from Nicobar District are participating this year in the tournament. The inaugural match was played between team Mus A and Perka A, which was won by team Mus A of Car Nicobar in 14 overs by 07 wickets.

The inauguration ceremony concluded with vote of thanks to the Chief Guest and other dignitaries. All COVID-19 related Protocols are being followed strictly in the tournament.