Port Blair, Dec. 31: The 70th half yearly meeting of Town Official Language Implementation Committee (TOLIC) was held on 28th December, 2012 at 03.00 PM in the Library Hall of Central Agricultural Research Institute, Port Blair wherein, Head of office and officers/Staff of Central Government establishment  attended.

Dr. S. Dam Roy, Director, CARI and Chairman, TOLIC, Port Blair expressed his happiness on the participation of the officials from different department and asked  everyone to put forth suggestion, views so as to improve upon the working of Hindi in day to day official activities. 

Shri Anand Raj of A & N Administrative gave a brief presentation on the incentives of Govt. of India for the use of Hindi in the offices and the training programmes provided by A & N Administration. Mrs. Sulochana, Secretary, TOLIC gave brief report on the activities of the TOLIC. 

Shri Amit Srivastava welcomed the members and the Secretary, TOLIC proposed the vote of thanks.

Port Blair, Dec. 31: All the Public, PRls, Private Contractors and Govt. organizations are cautioned not to dig/carry out any type of construction work along the road side of Hawa Mahal six pole structure to Rangat six pole structure with 'T' off towards Purana Thana to Govt. Senior Secondary School, Rangat as the 11KV supply in the underground cable laid by M/s Power Grid Corporation Ltd. has been charged by the Electricity Department, T&D, Rangat. Attempt to dig/cut the underground cable may lead to serious electrocution which may result in danger to life causing death also.

Hence all the Public, PRls, Private Contractors and Govt. organizations are cautioned and advised to take prior approval/permission before undertaking any type of work along the side of road of the mentioned area. Any willful and deliberate wrongful action by anyone causing danger to life may be at his/her own risk and the department will not take any responsibility after issuance of this press note.

Port Blair, Dec. 31: Dog show will be organised by the Department of Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Services on 12th January 2013 at 3 pm at the ITF ground during the ensuing Island Tourism Festival 2013. Interested participants may register their names with Dr. Ajay Verma , Senior Veterinary Officer, Veterinary Hospital, Junglighat during working days or may also contact 9434270256.

I extend my greetings and best wishes to the people of Andaman and Nicobar Islands for a happy, peaceful and prosperous New Year. 

I pray that the New Year will usher in peace, progress and prosperity in the life of our people. Let us work with renewed vigour and unity to take our Islands to new heights of development. I am confident that our people will wholeheartedly and collectively contribute for the all-round development of the Islands.

May Almighty God bless our people with prosperity, good health and happiness in the years to come.

Lt Gen (Retd) Bhopinder Singh

Lieutenant Governor

Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Shri Bishnu Pada Ray, Member of Parliament has wished all the Islanders a Happy & Prosperous New Year 2013. 

I extend my warm greetings and best wishes to you all for a Happy and prosperous New Year 2013. May the glow of joy, prosperity & happiness illuminate your days in the year ahead. 

P.B. Murugan

Chairperson, Municipal Council

Shore Point Youth Club Defeated Valluvar Nagar Xi By 3 Wickets


Port Blair, Dec. 31: Diwali 6 Wicket Knockout Cricket Tournament concluded last Sunday, 30th Dec, 2012. The tournament conducted by K Tulsi Babu, Ravi Kumar, S Murgan, Yadava Rao, John Kennedy and B Gopi was participated by 15 teams from Ferrargunj tehsil. The final match was played between Shore Point Youth Club (SPYC) and Valluvar Nagar XI at Shore Point.

Winning the toss, Valluvar Nagar XI chose to bat first and set a target of 36 runs from the allotted 6 overs which SPYC achieved with 3 wickets remaining and a ball to spare. Prabhakar SK of SPYC was declared Man of the Match for his winning knock of 19 runs and John Kennedy of SPYC was adjudged Player of the Tournament.

Senior players of Shore Point village distributed trophy to the winner and runner up teams.  Players of both the teams and match officials were also given individual medals for their contribution.

Earlier in the day, organizers felicitated senior players of Shore Point Village namely Debkumar Bhadra, Somen Talukdar, S Sada Siva and Jaganath. The gathering also observed two minutes silence in memory of Late Dr A Subramaniam, Editor Dawn Times and Late K Vasudev Rao, founder President of SPYC for their role in establishing SPYC.