Andaman Chronicle

The Daily Diary of the Islands

Top News

Andaman Tourism Award – 2019

AATO & YCCI Felicitate Andaman Tourism Stakeholders for their Remarkable Contribution

Port Blair, Oct. 13: The Andaman Association of Tour Operators along with Youth Chamber of Commerce & Industry in association with the Ministry of Tourism and Andaman Tourism organised the first ever Andaman Tourism Award 2019 on 12th Oct. 2019. Supreme Superstar from South Indian Cinema, Shri Sarath Kumar graced the occasion as the special invitee during the award ceremony, while the Chairperson PBMC Shri Udhaya Kumar graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.  

The Andaman Tourism Award has been conferred to the various stakeholders of Tourism Industry in the islands who have struggled all the way for years to build the tourism industry to the level it is today. These include tour operators, restaurants, divers, hoteliers, travel guides, airline companies, departments of A&N Administration and the media. As many as 130 people and organisations were recognised on the occasion.

Addressing the gathering the Chief Guest appreciated the initiative of the organisers to have thought of recognising the contributions of the stakeholders, which has been pending for long.

Special invitee, Cine Star Sarath Kumar expressed his pleasure for having visited Andamans for the first time and to have been impressed by the true unity in diversity of the islands. He appealed to the people of Andamans especially the stakeholders of tourism industry out here to join together by breaking all barriers in order to promote Andamans as a world class tourist destination. Sarath Kumar also vowed to promote Andamans in his own personal capacity and also announced that he would make a visit with his family soon to the emerald islands. 

Addressing the occasion, Shri M Vinod, President AATO informed that the award has been intended to recognise the contribution of those who have been relentlessly working hard in promoting the islands as a tourist destination.

Shri Tanveer Singh, President, YCCI concluding the ceremony expressed his gratitude to the various stakeholders and explained the need for such recognition.

Among those who were awarded lifetime achievement award were Shri Krishnamachari, Shri Sushil  Dikshit and Shri Meghavarnam, while Shri Alex Rajan was awarded for his contribution to promote North & Middle Andaman as a part of tourist destination. 

The award ceremony was witnessed by a large gathering of people from all walks of life. It was unfortunate that the Andaman Administration’s presence during such a ceremony was minimal, were cine super stars and travel associations from India had come all the way to promote the islands. It can be hoped that the disparity between the Administration and Stakeholders would be bridged soon with a positive note, which would only prove beneficial to the Andaman’s Tourism Industry.

  • Written by Denis Giles
  • Hits: 34