Port Blair, Nov. 25: Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav is an initiative of the Government of India to celebrate and commemorate 75 years of progressive India and the glorious history of it’s people, culture and achievements.

Under this campaign, the Department of Rural Development celebrated Awaas Diwas at Kodiyaghat PMAYG Cluster under CD Block Prothrapur on 20th November in commemoration of the launch of the Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana (Gramin) by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India.

The event was launched with the Grih Pravesh of the PMAYG beneficiaries Shri Henry Tete and Shri Simon Kujur who had completed their houses, which was followed by bhoomi Pujan of the beneficiaries Shri Dhanabakiam, Shri Hilarus Kongari and Shri Sajin Kumar. During the occasion, the Block Development Officer, CD Block Prothrapur and staff and officials of RD Department were present.

The Director (RD) graced the occasion with his presence. Several fruit bearing plants were also planted in the premises of the beneficiaries to mark the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav campaign. He sensitized the beneficiaries about the scheme modalities and urged them to complete the construction of their houses in a time bound manner. He also took note of the issues and concerns of the beneficiaries and assured them to resolve the same at the earliest.

The Secretary (RD/PRIs) Shri Suneel Anchipaka said that this flagship scheme of the Govt. of India is not only credited with the task of providing houses to beneficiaries, but it also serves in protecting the dignity of the households. Under the tree plantation campaign, he emphasized the importance of trees for the well-being of eco-system and urged the general public to plant more trees to reaffirm our commitment to a greener and sustainable planet.

The Awaas Diwas was also celebrated in the other blocks namely Ferrargunj, Rangat, Mayabunder, Diglipur, Campbell Bay and Nancowry in the presence of Block Development Officers of respective areas with equal enthusiasm.