Port Blair, Aug 16: As part of Independence Day Celebration (75 years of Independence) Andaman Nicobar Chess Association (ANCA) organised Port Blair Open Chess Tournament 2022 on 13th & 14th August 2022 at TSG Emerald Phoenix Bay, Port Blair.

Miss Sarabajeet Kaur Principal Khalsa public School was the chief guest while Dr. Nitish Kaura was the guest of honour of the closing ceremony.

Whereas G Bhasker, the patron of Andaman Nicobar Chess Association graced the occasion as the special guest and gave away the prizes to the winners.

More than 130 players participated in the tournament which was held for two days over 7 rounds in rapid mode in which P S Satish secured the first position with 6.5 points while R Kashthuri Bahi secured second position with 6 points. D Dhruva Kumar, AKS Srimannarayan & M Sanjay Kumar scored 6 points each and secured third, fourth and fifth position respectively in the open category who were awarded with trophies, cash prize and certificates.

Apart from open category two best players each in boys and girls from Under 08, Under 10 and Under 12 were also awarded with cash prize and certificates. Best youngest, Best Women and Best Veteran players were also awarded with cash prize and certificates.