Port Blair, Sept. 20: The 52nd National Junior (under 19) Chess Championship 2023 & 37th National Junior (under 19) Girls Chess Championship 2023 began today morning at Karnavati Club, Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

More than 350 players from across India are participating in this prestigious Championship in which three girls and four boys from Andaman & Nicobar Islands viz. R Kashthuri Bhai of GDMS Port Blair, Kavya Raj & J Keerthana of VKV Lambaline, Ronnie Ronaldo & R Tejass of Sagritara School Port Blair, S M Dinesh Kumar and A Divesh of VKV Lambaline are participating.

The event will be held for nine days from 20th to 28th September 2023 over 11 eleven rounds in classical format with a time control of 90 minutes with an increment of 30 seconds per move from move number one. The total prize money of the championship is rupees ten lakhs which will be awarded among top twenty players in each category.