Car Nicobar, Oct. 9: The 15th Prestigious President of India Cup Football Championship began today at Car Nicobar. The Deputy Commissioner Shri P. Jawahar inaugurated the under 17 Boys Tournament at Bishop John Richardson stadium. Addressing the Players the Chief Guest said that the Sports are the means of communicating the message of brotherhood across the regions. He hoped that the players will play the game in the true spirit of sportsmanship. Further he said that through participation in this prestigious tournament the young budding players can be nurtured and their talent can be tapped.    The Chief Guest lauded the efforts of the organizing committee for conducting the mega event in befitting manner. 

In his welcome speech the Education Officer Shri H. Nathaniel informed that total 9 teams from the different Educational zones of the Islands are participating in this soccer Championship. The teams are divided into two groups. Group A includes the teams of Car Nicobar, Port Blair, Campbell Bay and Mayabunder, whereas Nacowry, Wimberlygunj, Diglipur, Little Andaman and Rangat teams feature in the Group B. There are total 16 league matches. Shri H. Nathaniel said that the best players from the tournament will get the opportunity to represent the Islands in the coming National School Football Championship. 

Attractive Cultural Programs were presented by the students of different schools of Car Nicobar in the inaugural function.

In today’s inaugural match Little Andaman Team defeated Rangat team by 4-0. A large number of sports lovers turned up to witness the inaugural Function.

Tomorrow there will be three matches. The first match will be played between Car Nicobar and Mayabunder at 6.30 am. The second match will be between Nancowry and Little Andaman at 1.30 PM. The third match of the day will start at 3.00 pm between Diglipur and Wimberlygunj.