Port Blair, Oct. 2: The first Bambooflat Open Chess Tournament 2022 was organised by Bambooflat Chess Academy under the aegis of Andaman Nicobar Chess Association (ANCA) on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October 2022 at ZPVKv Auditorium, Shore point Bambooflat.

Port Blair, Oct. 2: Bhartiya Janata Party is celebrating the 72nd Birthday of Prime Minster, Narendra Modi from 17th September to 2nd October as Seva Pakhwada.

On the concluding day, today floral tributes were paid to two great leaders of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi and Lal Bahadur Shastri.

A programme was organised at Gandhi park to pay tributes to the Father of the Nation and a similar programme was organised at the BJP headquarters, Middle Point to pay floral tributes to Lal Bahadur Shastri, the second Prime Minster of India.

Port Blair, Oct. 2: As a part of 68th Wildlife Week Celebration 2022, the entry to Nature Park and Interpretation Centre, Haddo (NPIC) and Biological Park, Chidiyatapu (BPCT) shall remain free during the Wildlife Week w.e.f Oct. 2 to 8, 2022.

Port Blair, Oct. 2: Under the leadership of Shri N K Udhaya Kumar, State President BJYM ANI along with Shri Gaurav Gogia, State General Secretary, Shri Yogesh, District President, PB City District and Shri Harish in collaboration with Apollo Clinic, Port Blair organized a Free Health Check-Up Camp at Community Hall, Dairy Farm to mark Jayanti of the father of Nation Mahatma Gandhi and Ex-Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri and also to observe Seva Pakwada Saptah.  During the camp more than 200 had registered and benefitted.

Port Blair, Oct. 2: 1st October is celebrated as International Day for Older Persons, across the world. As per the direction of the Election Commission of India, the occasion is celebrated by recognizing the contribution of Senior Citizens/Voters towards strengthening Indian Democracy. As part of occasion, a personalized addressed letter of Hon’ble Chief Election Commissioner of India has been handed over to Senior Citizens (80+ age group) and centenarian voters by respective BLOs/AEROs for their continuous contribution in the Electoral process.