Wimberly Gunj maintained their supremacy in their Last League Match


 Car Nicobar, Nov. 4: It was again a day of ups and downs in the 19th Vice president of India cup football championship here today at Car Nicobar. In the First Match Port Blair Defeated Diglipur by 2-1. In this match of Pool D the Port Blair Team Dominated the Game, though the result did not affect its future to qualify for the quarter finals. 

In the First half both the Teams scored 1 Goal Each but in the Second Half the Port Blair Team scored 1 more goal and won the match.

In the Next match of the day between Sports Authority of India and Little Andaman, both the Teams got the opportunity to score the goal but couldn’t. The match ended in a draw. The chances of Little Andaman Team to enter into the quarter final is still remains alive.

Large number of football fans turned up today at the Bishop John Richardson Stadium to witness the third match of the day. The defending champion Territorial Army is a favourite team of the tournament. The TA won the match against Campbell bay by 6-1. Richardson scored 3 Goals. Now fate of the TA depends upon tomorrow’s match. The TA will make its entry into the quarter final if it wins the match against A & N Police. The crucial Match will start at 3.15 P.M tomorrow.

Today’s Last Match went in favour of the Wimberly Gunj team as expected. Wimberly Gunj outplayed the opposition by 10-4. The match has seen the fastest Goal being scored where Mohd. Haneefa of WG scored a goal in the first 13 Seconds of the match. The Leading scorer of the team Shamsuddin Scored 6 goals. He is one of the Leading Scorers of the Tournament. The Wimberly Gunj Team have also become the favourite in the tournament after they defeated the defending champion TA in their first match.

Tomorrow the Teams will play their last League Matches.

Tomorrows Match Schedule

1.      Teressa Vs Port Blair                                     6.00 A.M

2.      Car Nicobar ‘A’ Vs Nancowry                       7.30 A.M

3.      Education XI Vs Car Nicobar ‘B’                   1.45 P.M       

4.       Territorial Army Vs A & N Police                 3.15 P.M