Car Nicobar, Dec. 23: The Strong Carnic team has won the 16th President Cup Soccer Championship being held at the Bishop John Richardson Stadium, Car Nicobar.

In a very exciting final match today, striker Robinson scored the winning solitary goal in the last minute of the allotted time. The low profile but talented team of Little Andaman were little under pressure in the first half but their Goal keeper did some wonderful savings to keep the score board 0-0. Later in the second half LA gained some confidence and started building attacks.

But it was the wonderful strike by Robinson of Carnic, the leading scorer of the Tournament, which made the difference in the end. It has been an impressive tour for the LA though. First time in the history of President Cup, the Little Andaman team entered into the final, with the brilliant performance in the league round and Semi final.

Samuel of Carnic was declared the best Player of the tournament. The best goal keeper award was given to Essaw of Little Andaman and D. VIshal of Wimberly Gunj was felicitated for scoring the fastest goal of the tournament. Robinson of Carnic got prize for being the highest scorer of the tournament with 25 goals, whereas the Rangat team was declared the most disciplined team. The Champion team received a cash award of Rs. 20,000. The Runners up team LA got  cheque of  Rs 15000 and a Rs 10000 were given to  Nancowry for being the 2nd Runner up.

Speaking on the occasion the Chief Guest the Secretary cum Director Education Shri D.N Singh said that the way the Organising committee conducted this mega event so professionally, it deserve appreciation.

Expressing his happiness over the appointment of the new Coach Shri Joe Paul Ancheri, he said that definitely the boys will be benefited by his experience. Earlier while welcoming the guests the Chairman of the organizing committee and the Education Officer Shri H. Nathaniel informed that the best talented players from the different 9 Educational zones will be selected for the Specialized coaching camps.


The District Commissioner of the Nicobar District Smti Sakshi Mittal, Assistant Commissioner Amit Kumar and  Mrs. D.N Singh were also present on the occasion and gave away the prizes to the players.