Port Blair, June 21: The Government of India, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Department of School & Education and Literacy implements a scheme of National Awards to teachers to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honour those teachers, who through their commitment and industry have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students.

All school teachers/ Primary/ Middle/ High/ Higher Secondary under schools run by the state governments/ UT Administration, Central Government Schools, schools run by the Ministry of Defence, Schools affiliated to CBSE or CISCE are eligible for consideration for the award.

Normally, retired teachers are not eligible for the awards, but those who have served a part of this calendar year are eligible while educational administrators, inspectors of education, staff of training institutes, teachers/ head masters indulged in tuitions, contractual teachers and shiksha mitras are not eligible for the said award.

Registration for the self-nominations are opened till 6th July 2020 which has to be made on the website of MHRD http://mhrd.gov.in and http://nationalawardstoteachers .mhrd.gov.in.