Port Blair, March 27: The 11th Andaman & Nicobar State Conference of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) held at Atul Smrity Samity (Bengali Club), Port Blair today elected a 15-member State Organising Committee with Shri D. Ayyappan as Secretary. A 7-member State Secretariat was also elected in the Conference.  The Conference also elected Shri D. Ayyappan as Delegate from Andaman & Nicobar Islands to attend the 23rd Party Congress scheduled to be held at Kannur, Kerala from 6th to 10th April 2022. 

A law graduate from Delhi University, D. Ayyappan was the General Secretary of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association for 12 years till 2015.  He was the General Secretary of the Andaman & Nicobar Gazetted Officers’ Association.  He took voluntary retirement from government service.  A University topper in MA (Pol. Science) from JNRM, Port Blair, he is the Chairman of the JNRM Alumni Association.  He is currently the Vice President of the CITU Andaman & Nicobar State Committee.