Port Blair, Nov 28: Comdt. AKS Srimannaryana of Indian Coast Guard emerged as the winner of Two Days A & N State Open Rapid Chess Championship 2023 organised by Andaman Nicobar Chess Association (ANCA) that concluded successfully on 27th November at ITI Campus. This was the largest chess tournament ever organised in A & N islands in which around 260 chess players from all the three districts participated with great enthusiasm.

The event was played in rapid format over 9 rounds, of which five rounds took place on day 1 and four rounds on day 2. The games of the second day were inaugurated by Shri. Yesu Raj, Asst. Secretary (Perl), by making the first move on the top board against R Kashthuri Bhai to start the final day's games.

Dr. Anil Aggarwal, Secretary (Labour & Employment) was the chief guest for the closing ceremony while Shri. D N Choudhary, in-charge Principal, ITI was the guest of honour. They gave prizes and certificates to the winners.

Comdt. AKS Srimannaryana of Indian Coast Guard was the top scorer with 8.5 points out of 9 rounds and remained undefeated to clinch the championship trophy while R Kashthuri Bhai was the runner up of the championship with 8 points in 9 round. M Dhan Raju secured third position with 8 points, J S Virat and Sai Ram secured fourth and fifth position respectively with 7.5 points. The sixth position secured by ACM J Yadhava Rao, while the seventh positon secured by T Rama Rao. E Vishal Kanna secured eighth position while ACM Dinakar M A and P S Satish secured ninth and tenth positions respectively in the open category.

Apart from open category, the prizes were also given to various age categories. The winners of different categories are as follows:

Under 06

Boys - First: Shivansh Kishen, Second: R Medanth, Third: M Lavish

Girls - First: Rohita, Second: N Danusri, Third: Krishika K S

Under 08

Boys – First: Sachit Bara, Second: Vyom Tiwari, Third: S Jyosith

Girls – First: D Charvi, Second: T Vanshika Rao, Third: G Disha Meenakshi

Under 10

Boys – First: Shrihaan Karmakar, Second: A Sharad, Third: Hardik Chakravarty

Girls – First: Krishnapriya B Rajesh, Second: Parnita, Third: K Mahi

Under 12

Boys – First: Ronnie Ronaldo, Second: K Jaivardhan Rao, Third: AFM Roshan Senthil Kumar

Girls – First: Kavya Raj, Second: S Varanya, Third: T Sonam Mahesh

Under 14

Boys – First: AFM Yashwant V, Second: P Midhun Vettaiyaar, Third: Yuvan Singh

Girls – First: Chittiboina Mageswari, Second: J Keerthana, Third: A V Saraniya

Under 16

Boys – First: K Harshit, Second: B Hari, Third: Y Lokesh

Girls – First: ACM Rnini Roselin Y, Second: B Kavya, Third: S Anushka

Best Youngest Player: T Easanth

Best Veteran: Ratan Sarkar

Best Women: T Mounica

Best ITI Player – Male: Sujit Mistry, Female: Reema Das