Port Blair, March 27: As many as 10 nominations were filed by the candidates on the last day of the filing of nominations for the lone Lok Sabha seat of A&N Islands Parliamentary Constituency. The Office of the Returning Officer, A & N Islands Parliamentary Constituency (District Office, South Andaman) received 10 nomination papers today.

The candidates, who filed their nomination papers today were Shri Salamat Mondal, Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) (SUCI (C)), Shri K Venkat Ram Babu, Andaman & Nicobar Janta Party (ANJP), Shri Anand Ramnath Arlekar, Independent, Shri Sher Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma, Indian National Congress (INC), Ms. Rinku Mala Mondal, Independent, Shri K Muthu, Indian National Congress (INC), Shri V S Bhaskaran, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), Ms. Usha Kumari, Independent and Shri V K Abdul Aziz, Andaman & Nicobar Janta Party (ANJP). 

All the nomination papers were handed over to the Returning Officer, A&N Islands Parliamentary Constituency, Shri Arjun Sharma in the Office of the Returning Officer (Deputy Commissioner, South Andaman) in person.    With these nominations, altogether, 15 nominations have been filed for the lone Lok Sabha seat of the Islands. The scrutiny of the filed nominations will be carried out in the Office of the Returning Officer tomorrow (March 28, 2024) from 11 am onwards.