Port Blair, April 2: The Chief Electoral Officer, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Shri B S Jaglan, IAS, held a meeting today in his chamber at Secretariat, A&N Administration with the Returning Officer, ANIPC, Chief Staff Officer, Record Officer (Service Voters), State Nodal Officer (ETPBs), Dy. Superintendent of Post, A&N Islands & Nodal Officer (IT) to discuss on Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) issues.

The CEO briefed the Chief of Staff on ETPBS procedures as per the instructions of the ECI. The CEO also reviewed the progress on preparation on ETPBS/Postal Ballot paper as per the ECI instructions to Service Voters and to ensure all eligible service electors exercise their constitutional right to vote while performing their duties for the nation and to provide the Postal ballot facilities to categories of voters entitled to vote by postal ballot. The CEO has directed the Nodal Officers (ETPBS) to complete all activities well in time regarding Postal Ballot preparation and fix the target dates for casting votes through Postal Ballots. He also directed the Postal Department to handover the ETPBS bookings on daily basis by 3 pm to RO, ANIPC and by 8 am on Counting Day.

The CEO stated that speed post charges for delivery of ETPBS will be borne by Election Department. Further, the CEO directed to collect all EDC as per the targeted numbers and they should be properly marked in Electoral Roll.

The meeting was attended by Nodal Officer (ETBPS), Shri Azharuddin Zahiruddin Quazi, IAS, Dy. Chief Electoral Officer, Shri Vinayak Chamadia, IAS, Chief Staff Officer, Col. B S Rawat, Dy. Superintendent of Post (HQ), A&N Islands, Shri Prabhakar Soreng, Shri Mukund Joshi, DANICS (P), and Nodal Officer (IT), Shri Shishir Kumar Mishra.