Port Blair, April 9: In an effort to achieve 100% active participation of the electorate in the current General Elections-2024, the Election Commission of India has taken special initiatives Vide Order No.3/4/4/ID/2024/SDR/Vol. I Dt.  19th March, 2024, to encourage the electorate to exercise their most basic democratic franchise. Those who are not able to produce the EPIC, shall produce one of the alterative photo identity documents for establishing their identity viz. Aadhaar Card, MNREGA Job Card, Passbooks with photograph issued by Bank/Post Office, Health Insurance Smart Card Issued under the scheme of Ministry of Labour, Driving License, PAN Card, Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR, Indian Passport, Pension document with photograph, Service Identity Cards with Photograph issued to employees by Central /State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies, Official Identity Cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs, and Unique Disability ID (UDID) Card, M/o Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India.

Moreover, the Commission has evolved specific modus operandi to facilitate and outreach the voters through distribution of Voter Information Slip through the Booth Level Officer of respective Polling Station wherein the voters could easily know the serial number of electoral roll of his/her Polling Station, date of poll, time etc. However, Voter Information Slip will not be allowed as a proof to identify the voters.

The electorates under Andaman & Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituency have been appealed to cast their vote by exercising their most basic democratic right. The Date of Poll (Phase-l) in this constituency is on 19/04/2024 and Hours of Poll is from 7 am to 6 pm.