Port Blair, May 24: The Chief Secretary, A&N Administration, Shri Keshav Chandra, IAS today flagged off 21 newly procured buses by State Transport Department from the premises of Secretariat in the presence of the Commissioner-cum-Secretary (Transport), A&N Administration, Shri Nikhil Kumar, IAS, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, A&N Administration, Smt. Nandini Paliwal, IAS, the Secretary, Transport, Shri Vishwendra and Senior Officers of the A&N Administration. These 21 new TATA make buses have been procured by the Transport Department for the benefit of the commuters of A&N Islands.

The Department sources informed that out of the 21 buses, 4 buses will be deployed in Diglipur, 3 each in Mayabunder, Rangat, Baratang, Ferrargunj and Port Blair while 1 bus each will be deployed in Car Nicobar and Hutbay STS Units.