Port Blair, Feb 17: With the current state of Pandemic and the impending lockdowns of previous year, much of our time now is spent in bringing back normalcy to our lives. The health and wellbeing of students and youth is of primary focus and one way of ensuring this is by engaging rural youths in co-curricular activities for an optimal period of time.

Port Blair, Feb 17: The Director (RD/Panchayat), Shri. Vinay Kumar Jindal held a brief discussion with the representatives of 18 NGOs/Civil Societies of A&N Islands on the activities currently being carried out by the Department of Rural Development and how to partner with NGOs for effective solid waste management and waste segregation.

Port Blair, Feb 16: The first ever Samir Acharya Annual Memorial Award and Lecture will be held in the month of March 2021.

The Award and Lecture has been created to honour the life and work of Mr Acharya, who fought for the Andaman & Nicobar Islands’ ecology and tribal communities till his last breath (i.e. 16th Oct. 2020). After his demise, his family decided to come up with this award in order to identify and recognise deserving individuals and organisations doing exemplary work on these issues around coastal communities and ecosystems that he held so dear. The award has been opened for nomination from across the country.

Port Blair, Feb 17: The District Child Protection Unit, South Andaman conducted an awareness programme at Calvary Children Home on 17.02.2021. The children were sensitized on the topic of “Cyber Crime”.

Member of Parliament Holds Preliminary Meetings with Members of FII at New Delhi

Port Blair, Feb 16: The Member of Parliament, Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma held preliminary meetings at Delhi on 15th February 2021 with the past and current Presidents and Vice President of Film Federation of India on scope of creating film and creative industry pillar for Andaman & Nicobar youths and their employability. Following film fraternity dignitaries were present at the meeting Shri T P Agarwal Ex-President, Film Federation of India and Chairman of Indian Motion picture producers Association, Shri Firdausul Hasan, Ex-President, Film Federation of India and Shri Rajendra Singh, Vice President, Film Federation of India and Dr Rahul Banerjee, member of CII FFI.