Port Blair, Jan 24: ICAR- Central Island Agricultural Research Institute, Port Blair has proposed to conduct a six days training on Coconut Handicraft making in collaboration with KVK, Sipighat with support from Coconut Development Board, Kochi.

Port Blair, Jan. 24: Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation, Regional Office, Port Blair will be organizing ‘Nidhi Aapke Nikat-A District Outreach Programme’ for awareness amongst stakeholders about the social security benefits under the Employees’ Provident Funds & Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1952 on Jan.27, 2023 from 9 am to 4 pm. The programme will be organized simultaneously in the following venues: 

Port Blair, Jan. 23: Members and non-members of Swimming Pool, Netaji Stadium have been informed that the Swimming Pool is closed from Jan. 25 in connection with maintenance work.

Port Blair, Jan 24: The Practicals exam for BSCG Programme in Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, and Geography is being scheduled from 30th January 2023 onwards. The practicals will be conducted at the IGNOU, Study Centre-0201, Jawahar Lal Nehru Rajkeeya Mahavidyalaya, Port Blair.  The schedules of practicals are placed in the notice board of the Study Centre, JNRM, Port Blair. Eligible learners are advised to visit the Study Centre-0201, JNRM. For more details, visit IGNOU Study Centre-0201, JNRM college, Port Blair or contact IGNOU Regional Centre, Port Blair over Phone: 03192-242888, 03192-230111 or Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

New Delhi/ Port Blair, Jan 23: Twenty-one large unnamed islands of Andaman and Nicobar were named on Monday after Param Vir Chakra awardees in a ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on the occasion of Parakram Diwas. He also unveiled the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep, earlier known as Ross Islands.

Addressing the event, the prime minister noted that many messages are contained in the naming of the 21 islands, including that of 'Ek Bharat, Shrestha Bharat'.