Port Blair, March 9: The MPL 35th National Junior Girls Chess Championship 2022 began today the 9th March 2022 at RPS International School, Sector-50 Gurugram, Haryana. The event is being organised by All India Chess Federation (AICF) under the aegis of Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Government of India.

Port Blair, March 9: Eastern Zonal Cultural Centre (EZCC), Ministry of Culture, Govt. of India is organizing Six days Kathak Dance Workshop from 14th - 19th March 2022 in collaboration with Kala Kendra Society under the Department of Art & Culture, A&N Administration.

Port Blair, Mar. 9: During RAT conducted on 23 passengers bound for North & Middle Andaman at Ferrargunj, no positive case has been detected. At Mohanpura Bus Terminus, test was conducted on 23passengers, no positive case has been detected. At helipad, 03 passengers were tested with RAT, no positive case has been detected.  At Phoenix Bay Jetty, 10passengers were tested with RAT, no positive case has been detected. RT-PCR test was conducted on 50 crew members of M.V. Sindhu, the reports of which are awaited.

Port Blair, Mar. 9: The vaccination drive is continuing smoothly in A&N Islands. As per data available, a total of 6,08,332 beneficiaries in the age group of 18 and above have been vaccinated so far in A&N Islands. Similarly, 23,218 beneficiaries have been vaccinated in the age group of 15 to 18. The number of beneficiaries administered precautionary dose of vaccine so far stood at 9027.

INC – DMK Alliance Leads the Tally. TDP to be the Deciding Factor in Forming of Council

Port Blair, March 8: The results of the election to Port Blair Municipal Council were declared today. Accordingly among the 24 wards of the Municipal Council, the Indian National Congress (INC) secured 10 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 10 seats, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) secured 2 seats, the DMK party secured 1 seat and 1 seat was won by an Independent lady candidate. With INC and DMK alliance, INC stands as the majority but the deciding factor will be the two seats of the TDP to form the Council, while the one Independent seat may also be crucial. The results are as follows: