Port Blair, May 19: The District Child Protection Unit, Nicobar organized a capacity building program on Health and Nutrition Care for pregnant and lactating mothers under the Beti Bachao Beti Padhao scheme at District Library, Car Nicobar for the Community Health Officers, Auxiliary Nurse Midwife(ANM) and ASHA workers.

Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma, Member of Parliament, Andaman & Nicobar Islands has deeply mourned the demise of Shri. Remis Barla, Senior Congress leader, age 72 years, who passed away at Mayabunder today on 19.05.2022. The Member of Parliament has prayed for eternal peace for the departed soul and for enough strength for the members of the bereaved family to bear the irreparable loss.

Port Blair, May 19: The Revenue Department of South Andaman District carried out eviction drive against encroachments committed over Government land at Rabindranagar village under Little Andaman Tehsil under Survey No. 371/P and an area of 0.5 hects approximately evicted and restored into Government Khatha.

The South Andaman Teachers’ Branch of the Non-Gazetted Govt. Officers’ Association, A & N Islands expresses deep grief on the demise of Shri Ramesh Barla, Retd. Teacher of Education Department, at his residence in Danapur village under Pokadera Panchayat. He was the recipient of prestigious Best Teacher Award by the President of India in the year 2004. He was also active as a social worker. The South Andaman Teachers’ Branch conveys its deepest condolences to his bereaved family members. 

Port Blair, May 19: The Ananda Marga Pracharak Samgha (AMPS), Andaman & Nicobar Islands unit celebrated the 100th Birthday of Tarakbramha Shrii Shrii Anandamurti-ji, Founder of Ananda Marga on Monday, the 16th May 2022 through a colourful programme held in the premises of Ananda Marga School, Junglighat, Port Blair. Smt. Kavitha Udhaya Kumar, Chairperson, Port Blair Municipal Corporation graced the occasion as Chief Guest. Shri CH Hemant Rao, Cultural Activist and Shri Udhaya Kumar, ex-Chairperson, PBMC were present in the programme as Guest of Honour and Special Guest respectively.